Within a single night, 12 hours, 100 questions, Rem Koolhaas, politcial scientist Luuk Van Middelaar and Yoeri Albrecht, director of De Balie, search for answesr to the complex question: what is Europe? A nocturnal 12-hour interview marathon was organized as part of ‘Re:creating Europe’, the first Forum on European Culture held on 1, 2, and 3 June 2016.
The 12 hours interview marathon collected insights from as many possible backgrounds: from soccer, to history, to science, psychology and mysticism with Inne Olders (consultant, Belgium) , Ingo Niermann (author, Germany), Joeri Jansen (creative director, The Netherlands),Pieter Kool (designer, The Netherlands),Gerben Hellinga (actor and writer, The Netherlands), Kishore Mahbubani (professor, Singapore), Rudi Fuchs (art historian, The Netherlands), Ivana Abramovic (scientist),Wolfgang Tillmans (photographer, Germany),Flavia Kleiner (activist, Switzerland), Beatrix Ruf (curator, Germany), Engin Önder (journalist, Turkey), Tom Lanoye (author, Belgium), Vasyl Cherepanyn (director, Ukraine), Johan Simons (theatre director, The Netherlands),Abram de Swaan (professor, The Netherlands), Vincent Stuer (speechwriter and author, Belgium), Philipp Blom (historian, Germany), Phillip Blond (political thinker, UK),Luc Tuymans (painter, Belgium), Jan Raes (director, The Netherlands), Chantal Mouffe (political theorist, Belgium), Costas Lapavitsas (professor, Greece), Ann Demeester (museum director, Belgium), Larry Siedentop (political philosopher, UK), Stella Ghervas (author and historian, Switzerland), Niklas Maak (arts director and architecture theoretician), Astrid du Lau d’Allemans (psychoanalyst), Yevhen Levchenko (football-player, Ukraine), Diederick Koopal (director, the Netherlands), Bettine Vriesekoop (table tennis player and journalist, The Netherlands), Peter Ho (professor, The Netherlands, via Skype), Aslı Çiçek (architect, Turkey), Abdelkader Benali (author, Morocco), Duncan Stutterheim (entrepeneur, The Netherlands), Quirijn Bolle (entrepeneur, The Netherlands), Diederik Samsom (politican, The Netherlands), Heiko Goelzer (researcher, The Netherlands), Ryan Heath (correspondent, Australia), and Lukasz Kolinski (special advisor on energy union and climate issues, Poland).

Back to Top